I’ve got a collection of old family phtotographs as well as Gearhart Knitting Machine photographs. It is pretty easy to figure out the time and place for the Gearhart Knitting Machines, but those family photos, well, that’s another story.

Take this photo, for instance. The caption says “At Home, 1916 Xmas”. And then in the lower right corner something is written which I cannot make out. Is it the name of the man playing the piano? What is “home”, I wonder? Whose home is this? I’m positive its Emory’s handwriting, so the man at the piano surely must be someone very close.

Of Joseph’s three sons, Leonard (b. 1874, d. 1962) would have been 42, John (b. 1877, d. 1965) would have been 39, and Emory (b. 1888, d. 1969) would have been 28. The side profile doesn’t look like Emory. Plus, Emory did not play the piano.

I suspect you’d probably have to be a close descendant of one of the three sons to make an identification. If you think you can figure out the location and name of this person, I’d sure like to hear from you.

