I posted a question to the newsgroup asking about the time it takes to make a sock. Here are the responses. In general, it looks like it takes about an hour to make a pair of socks. I asked this question because I’m getting some information together to estimate the time a person spent back in the early 1900’s making a living with the Gearhart Knitting Machine. Many people did this for a living, especially out on the farms. More on this later. For now, here are the times in 2009 numbers.

If you’ve got some times, I’d love to hear from you.

I knit on the Legare 400 with 60/30 and knit 80 rows 1X1 ribbing, then 20 rows before the heel, heel, foot at least 60 rows (as many as 78) and toe – takes me about 15 minutes or less but there is prep time & then closing the toe time…… I allow 1 hr per pair. – Judi Meissner

It takes me bout 40 minutes to make a standard auto-knitter style sock, this is the 1×1 ribbing for the cuff, then the 3×1 down the leg and on top of the foot to the toe and having the bottom of the foot just cylinder stitches. I probably could do it faster but I like taking my time. – Barry Travis

It takes me about 30 to 45 minutes which includes closing the toe. – Susan Bailey

I got my canadian autoknitter in May, but I have spent a lot of time reading and watching anything I could get my hands on on how these work and “best practices”. I can now rib (thanks to group for tip on replacing ribber needles). A couple of days ago I timed myself, although I didnt try to hurry through making the socks. The first one I had dropped two stitches which I fixed when I started the heel. It took me an hour. The second I didnt drop any stitches and it took me 40 minutes. I was making a ladies sock on a 60/30 canadian autoknitter, with 20 rows of 1×1 ribbing, and 45 rows of 3×1, with the 3×1 continuing down the top of the sock to the toe. I must say I am pleased with the results of my socks. – Amy Marchese

I can knit a sock whether it be on a Gearhart, autoknitter, or Legare in approx. 15-20 min. I do a hung hem, 70 rows of mock rib, 15 rows of pre-heel with all needles back in, heel, 60 rows for foot and toe. I like things fast and easy and am very happy with the mock-ribbed socks. I am doing my very first farmers market on Wed. – wish me luck! – Kris Basta

Plain hung hem is 10-12 minutes per sock. Ribbed is 15-20 minutes per sock. Closing toes takes me 8-10 minutes per sock. – Sarah Easter

To make a standard hung hem sock, about midcalf length takes me about 10 minutes!?? – Barb W

Yikes! I am not running with the big dogs just yet myself. It takes me about an hour to make a sock, but I’m still ‘learning’ the Gearhart. On the Legare I had it down a little faster. I and all my family have large feet – so it’s 9 inches from the heel back tot he beginning of the toe. I do like the mock ribbing too – I’ve had a lot of fun experimenting with different spacing set ups for that, and I’m more of a seat of the pants knitter – don’t have a set formula. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. – Kate

