The Home Earners were always busy all across the country, knitting socks on their Gearhart Knitting Machines and sending those socks into the Gearhart Knitting Machine Company. The company, in turn, distributed the socks to various retailers and mailed out checks to the Home Earners for their work.

The company kept detailed records on this, since the Hosiery business was a major contributor to the company’s income in addition to machine sales. Shown below is the incoming hosiery tally for the month of February, 1928, broken down by day and by type of hosiery. There were two types of hosiery. The first was CSH, which stood for Childrens Support Hosiery. The second was WOOL, which stood for Wooladdie Hosiery. Wooladdie was adult hosiery, which was sturdier and thicker than the children’s hosiery.

incoming_500px

I really couldn’t find anything remarkable on this list yet as far as volumes go. I’ll need to collect more information before I can tie this list volume-wise to the outgoing shipments to the retailers described in an earlier posting titled Some Hosiery Customers (click here). I’ll also need to get a good idea of the seasonal variations in supply and demand before I can tie everything to warehouse quantities.

One thing that is surprizing, is the rejection rate for the incoming hosiery. We can see a 13% rejection rate on Children’s Sport Hose and a 16% rejection rate on Wooladdie Hose. Does that sound like a lot?

This means that, on average, for every 12 socks sent in 1 sock was rejected. I ran this number past some others. Most say its not too bad, and they would have expected more rejections. It would be interesting to see the distribution between new Home Earners and older, more experienced Home Earners. I don’t think I’d be able to figure that out from the archives, since I don’t have the customer list of machine sales. I do think the experienced Home Earner would have a rejection rate approaching 0%.

