After the Gearhart Knitting Machine company went into receivership in 1925, it reformed as the Clearfield Knitting Machine Company, and then after that the Superior Appliance and Pattern Company. According to a 1978 article in the Clearfield Progress, the Gearhart Knitting Machine Factory building was quickly re-occupied by the State Transporation Department.

I’ve seen some previous evidence which disputes this, and I have recently come across even more evidence which suggests that the factory (or at least part of the factory) was still used by Emory Gearhart as late as 1928. He formed and ran both the Gearhart Runner Knitter Company and the Superior Appliance and Pattern Company. The first company manufactured and sold a device he patented to repair damage to knitted clothing. The second company manufactured and sold another of his patented devices which was used to make Hooked Rugs and Tapestries. Along with this, he sold rug patterns through a subscription sevice which he called the Turfography Guild.

I recently received a catalog for the Superior Appliance and Pattern Company which shows a nice color illustration of the factory. The catalog is dated 1928. The catalog also contains a very nice color illustration showing the colored all-wool yarns used to make the rugs. I wonder if this was the same yarn destined for the Home Earners and their Gearhart Knitting Machines? The factory did have warehouses full of this yarn, so maybe Emory actually found a use for it. I have a few tapestries which have been very badly stored. When I touch them, they crumble, so I will never be able to unroll them or examine the finished item closely. That’s too bad, because I vaguely remember visiting my grandfather (Emory Gearhart) when I was a kid, and I think he had several of them hanging on the wall in his living room.

superior1_trimmed_500px

superior4_trimmed_500px

Here is a zoom-in of the factory. The overview calls the company Superior Rugcraft, although the copyright on the bottom of the cover reads S.A.P Co. I think Superior Rugcraft is a much better sounding name for a company. It looks like I also might have to add a trip to Clearfield to the agenda, to get some official chronology answers for the factory.

superior4_trimmed_zoom_500px

