Here are two poster-size prints from the archives. The first print is a 14×20″ original artist’s illustration. It is not a reproduction or copy. It is actually the painted original. What nice work! Judging by the particulars of the machine, I’d say the illustration was composed in 1922. I searched archives, but I could not find any evidence that this illustration was ever used in any marketing or product brochures, even though it is very accurate and professionally done. But then, to my surprise, Ms. Laura Schickli of Handwerks Textiles in Palo Alto, California, contacted me to see if I’d be interested in some papers she had in her possesion. Wouldn’t you know it, when the papers arrived there it was, displayed right in the center of a large foldout ad for the company.

When I found the original illustration, it was tightly rolled up and squashed, so it took some very careful work to obtain a fairly wrinkle-free surface. There is just a slight amount of discoloration towards the bottom, and I suspect this is due to some water damage. All in all though, to me the discoloration is not distracting at all, and really seems to add to its historic value quite well. I must say, when I first unrolled the print, I picked up on a very distinct old-building musty smell. Its the kind of smell that would make one consider the passing years; not too unlike the way I might smell if I were squashed in a box for over 85 years.

zoompicture12_500_compress

The next print is an 8×20″ illustration which should be well known to all. The reduced version has appeared in many of the marketing brochures from 1923 onward. This print shows the latest and most advanced of the Gearhart Knitting Machines. In fact, as I look at my Clearfield Knitting Machine, I cannot find any differences between my 1937 model and the model depicted in the illustration.

I actually have two versions of this illustration. The first says Clearfield Knitting Machine Company, and the second says Gearhart Knitting Machine Company. Other than that, the illustrations are identical.

zoompicture14_500_compress

If you would a copy of either of these illustrations, let me know. When I have enough names, I’ll take them to the print shop and have them reproduced. I’m not sure what the cost will be. It will no doubt depend on how many prints are made and the type of paper used.

